YOUTH/DISABLED DEER SEASON SEPT. 24-25
Part of Wildlife and Parks' "Pass It On" program,season offers youth special opportunity
PRATT -- The Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) kicks off its annual “Pass It On” program on Sept. 24-25 with a youth/disabled deer season. Designed to reverse the declining trend in hunter numbers, the program comprises many different subprograms, such as Outdoor Mentors, shooting clinics, hunting access, education and awareness classes, and special hunts such as this one. Adult mentors are especially important because it takes a hunter to make a hunter, and it's critical that youth learn important life lessons in the outdoors from experienced hunters. This special season helps make that possible.
Anyone can become involved by simply taking a youngster hunting. Anyone born on or after July 1, 1957, must successfully complete an approved course in hunter education before hunting in Kansas except that anyone 15 years old and younger may hunt without hunter education certification if they are under direct supervision of an adult 18 or older. There is no minimum age to apply for and receive big game or turkey permits. All youngsters need a valid deer permit for this season.
This is a weekend for youth 16 or younger or anyone who has a disability permit to hunt deer. Resident youth 16 years old and all nonresident youth must have a hunting license unless exempt by law. Youth must be accompanied by an adult 18 or older during this special season. All resident and nonresident permits are valid in this season, and all permit, unit, and equipment restrictions apply, including hunter orange clothing. The adult may not hunt and is not required to have a hunting license or deer permit.